Mac OS Ventura. 7 Reasons Why I Upgraded

Dmitry Yarygin
5 min readNov 15, 2022
Photo by Devon Janse van Rensburg on Unsplash

Let’s be honest. I’m not a fan of the new habit of releasing new software every year for the sake of releasing it. It might be great for marketing purposes, but when you think about the tools that might stop working for at least a few weeks after an update or the amount of work necessary to make everything work properly might be initially bad for productivity.

Nevertheless, only some updates are painful, and I’ve decided to wait until the first patch release arrives and I’ve updated immediately. Let’s go and take a look at the features that I enjoy using every day.

Stage Manager

Stage Manager visible on the left side

Mac has a long history of attempts trying to create less mess when you have a large number of windows open. Those were:

  • Exposé
  • Mission Control
  • Widgets (in some way). Obsolete
  • Mission Control (virtual desktops)
  • External apps, such as “Magnet” to customize window sizes
  • Command-Tab. Old-school option

None of those options solved my problem of too many windows appearing on the screen, and I was…

--

--

Dmitry Yarygin

Nomad lifestyle writer. Passionate about breaking software— QA Engineer. My Travel & Tech YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/nomadicdmitry